COVID-19 (Coronavirus) situation:

Testing candidates: Check our COVID-19 Update Page to review the health and safety measures in place for testing and find out about any country-specific testing policies.

Appointment availability is limited due to social distancing precautions and varies by location. Please note that our customer service wait-times are also longer than usual right now. For information on rescheduling, refunds, and more, please check out our FAQs.

IIA Certification/Qualification Testing

IIA Certification/Qualification Testing

OnVUE online proctoring:

The IIA has adopted online proctoring to enable candidates to take the Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®), Certification in Risk Management Assurance®️ (CRMA®️), and CIA Challenge exams from home starting 27 April 2020. Learn more about the timeline and eligibility requirements here. Visit the Pearson VUE Online Proctoring page to learn more about specific system requirements and FAQs.

The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is recognized as the worldwide leader, authority, and principal educator for internal auditing professionals. Earning an IIA certification/qualification symbolizes your competency, commitment to and achievement in internal auditing.


These examinations are administered in multiple languages exclusively in Pearson VUE test centers around the world.

The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®)

The CIA® designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field.

Certification in Control Self-Assessment® (CCSA®)

The CCSA® is a specialty certification program designed for practitioners of control self-assessment (CSA).

Certified Financial Services Auditor® (CFSA®)

The CFSA® is one of The IIA’s specialty certifications that measures an individual’s knowledge of, and proficiency in, audit principles and practices within the banking, insurance, and securities financial services industries.

Certified Government Auditing Professional® (CGAP®)

The CGAP® is a specialty certification designed for and by public-sector internal auditing practitioners.

The Certification in Risk Management Assurance® (CRMA®)

The CRMA is designed for internal auditors and risk management professionals with responsibility for and experience in providing risk assurance, governance processes, quality assurance, or control self-assessment (CSA).

Qualification in Internal Audit Leadership® (QIAL®)

The QIAL was developed by The IIA to support aspiring, new, and experienced Audit Executives (AEs) in helping to grow and change the internal audit profession.

Certified Process Safety Auditor® (CPSA®)

The CPSA designation is designed for auditors with responsibility for and experience in providing process safety elements and regulation for all industries with processes that involve hazardous waste and explosive materials.

Certified Professional Environmental Auditor® (CPEA®)

The CPEA has four specialties: Environmental Compliance, Health & Safety, Management systems, and Responsible Care® to demonstrate one’s understanding of today’s ever changing environmental, health, and safety regulations.

Certification/Qualification Application

Before scheduling an examination appointment, you must have already:

  1. Applied for IIA certification/qualification;
  2. Been notified of your eligibility to sit for the examination;
  3. Paid an examination authorization fee to IIA.
Last updated 2020-04-21