European Specialty Examination in Nephrology (ESENeph)

From February 2020, the current Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE) in Nephrology and the European Certificate in Nephrology that was originally developed between the UEMS Renal Section and Boards and the European Renal Association – European Dialysis and Transplant Association (ERA-EDTA) will become a single examination called the European Specialty Examination in Nephrology (ESENeph). The Examination is designed to assess a candidate’s knowledge and understanding of the clinical sciences relevant to specialist medical practice, and of common or important disorders to a level appropriate for a newly appointed Nephrology specialist.

The format of the ESENeph Examination is as follows:

  • Best-of-five format with clinical scenarios
  • Two three-hour papers of 100 questions each

Additional features are:

  • One annual diet per specialty
  • Electronic test taken on a computer at a testing centre

Candidates who are Nephrology trainees, mostly will sit the examination in their penultimate year of specialist training. What to expect in a Pearson VUE test centre


Applications for this exam must be made on the SCE website and test scheduling for International candidates will be completed by SCE administrators and Pearson VUE. Test scheduling for UK candidates will be completed by candidates themselves once the booking window opens. For more details, please visit the SCE website.


Please note that any subsequent cancellation of your test must be conducted through the SCE Administrators.