The Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists (RCOG)

The RCOG works to improve the health of women and girls everywhere. We do this by setting standards for clinical practice, providing doctors with training and lifelong learning, and advocating for women and girls’ healthcare worldwide.

The RCOG membership exam (MRCOG)

The RCOG membership exam (MRCOG) is internationally respected as the gold standard qualification for career progression in obstetrics and gynaecology (O&G). It is intended for trainee doctors who wish to specialise in O&G. The exam is a 3-part assessment: the MRCOG Part 1 and Part 2 are written examinations, the MRCOG Part 3 is a clinical skills exam.

  • MRCOG Part 1 – A written examination to evaluate basic and clinical sciences relevant to the speciality.
  • MRCOG Part 2 – A written examination that assesses the application of knowledge.
  • MRCOG Part 3 - A stand-alone clinical skills exam assessing candidates' ability to apply core clinical skills in the context of the skills knowledge, aptitudes and competences as defined in the MRCOG curriculum. The MRCOG Part 3 is part of the assessment and validation process for entry on to the UK Specialist Register and progress to a consultant post in O&G. UK specialty trainees must pass the MRCOG Part 2 and MRCOG Part 3 before progressing from ST5 to ST6.

The RCOG Diploma exam (DRCOG)

The DRCOG is a written examination assessing knowledge and clinical problem solving in O&G and sexual and reproductive medicine as applied to women's health. It is especially relevant for general practitioners (GPs) in UK practice.

Scheduling your exam

Please use your Candidate Exam Portal to book your exam at a Pearson VUE test centre. You can also book your exam by telephone. Please note these are the only ways you will be able to book your exam and you will need to meet the criteria below.

Important information

To be able to book your exam at a Pearson VUE test centre using this site, you must first have received email confirmation of your eligibility and authorisation to schedule from the RCOG.

If you have not received eligibility and scheduling authorisation, you will not be able to book your exam by using this site or any other means.

If you want to apply for eligibility and pay for an exam, please go to the RCOG website, log in into your RCOG account and access the Exams page. If you don’t have an RCOG account, go to the RCOG website and register.

Exam dates and booking windows

Eligible candidates will be able to pay to sit one of the RCOG exams during the available booking windows via their RCOG account.

For information on exam dates, eligibility application and booking windows please visit


You can cancel your booking by logging into your Candidate Exam Portal and selecting cancel on your scheduled booking.

If you cancel your booking after the booking window has closed (late cancellation), or if you fail to appear at the exam on the exam date (no-show), the RCOG will not be able to refund you the exam fee you paid. Please read the MRCOG regulations for full details.

In certain specific cases, the RCOG will consider refunding the exam fee for late cancellations or no-show. Please see further information in the RCOG ‘Exams Extenuating Circumstances Policy’

Last updated 2020-08-11