CFA UK Investment Management Certificate

CFA UK Investment Management Certificate

The Investment Management Certificate (IMC) is administered by the CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK), whose main purpose is to foster and maintain high standards of professional ability and practice in investment analysis, portfolio management and related disciplines.

The IMC qualification is attained by passing two unit examinations – Unit 1: The Investment Environment and Unit 2: Investment Practice.

The examination is written to the syllabus which is found on the CFA UK website Syllabus Updates page. The syllabus is updated on 1 December every year and it tested until 30 November the following year, unless otherwise necessary.

CFA UK also reserves the right to update the IMC syllabus from time to time, and it is the candidate’s responsibility to check for updates which will be published on CFA UK’s site.

It is important that candidates carefully consider when they plan to sit the IMC. This is because the syllabus tested may change depending on the date that they sit the exam.

Please direct any questions to

Exam Registration and Scheduling Information


Before scheduling your CFA UK examination with Pearson VUE, you must first register with CFA UK. Once you have registered you may schedule your exam through Pearson VUE.


Appointments may be made up to one business day in advance and exam slots are subject to availability. Candidates wishing to reschedule or cancel an arranged exam appointment are required to provide more than 72 hours notice, prior to the appointment time.

Last updated 2018-08-08